Blogtober Day 9: Favourite trick

 “By and large, people who enjoy teaching animals to roll over will find themselves happier with a dog”

– Barbara Holland

Cooper says:

I’m still learning the basics of how to do tricks and exercises, but now that I have my Basic Obedience Certificate I’m better equipped to focus, and am eager to learn. I think in the future I would be really good at “playing dead” because I already basically collapse unceremoniously onto my back, tummy up and paws in the air whenever I need to “down”. But I’ll make sure Mom blogs about it once I perfect this!

Me and my ball after playing "fetch" with Mom

Me and my ball after playing “fetch” with Mom

As for now, I think my best and favourite “trick” is “Fetch & Retrieve”. As far as my Mom knows I was never taught this, and after only 2 afternoons, I already knew exactly how to chase a thrown tennis ball, and return it at her feet, then wait for another throw. (Apparently other dogs refuse to give the ball back, which doesn’t make sense to me!) Phoebe doesn’t seem at all interested in this game no matter how much fun we are having, but I LOVE it!

******************************

Phoebe says:

Hmmmm. This is a tough one because I really love doing all kinds of “tricks” and activities. We learn most of these in the weekly Fun Class that I go to on Saturday mornings. I don’t have a spectacular party-stopping trick, but through the training and fun for all the Canine Good Citizen Bronze and Silver preparations I can honestly say that I outshine all the other dogs in the “STAY” category, and never get bored of this exercise.

Here I am with 3 of my friends from class doing the 2 Minute "Stay" exercise for our Silver Canine Good Citizen Award

Here I am with 3 of my friends from class doing the 2 Minute “Stay” exercise for our Silver Canine Good Citizen Award

I am totally focused on my Mom, and won’t move a muscle for aaaaages. I’ve even managed more than 5 minutes without any hassles, and I’m sure I could do much longer. This is only fun though because my Mom is so happy and showers me with love when the time is up!

******************************

Mom says:

There’s so many every day “tricks” I still want to do with Phoebe and Cooper – this guide of “52 Tricks to Teach Your Dog” is a good place to start for more ideas. For now, all the important basics are done, and we’ll slowly start doing more!

******************************

To se the full ’31 Day Blogtober Dog Blog Challenge’ click here

Leave a Reply

