Phoebe’s Luscious Liver Treats

Dog treats. They’re an indispensable item for you and your dog. Why are they so valuable? Well, you can use them for training, reaffirming positive bonds and trust, distracting, to add nutritious vitamins and nutrients in your dog’s diet, and in some hair-raising situations they are especially handy for when you need to bribe your dog! (I know, I know, I fully believe in the Learn to Earn program, but there are times when you need to get your dogs attention pronto!).

I wanted to start making my home-made treats for Phoebe as we were doing a lot of training and I hoped to save money on expensive store-bought treats as well as making sure she was having something nutritious in the process. But there was one teensy hurdle to my grand plan of being a world class Doggy Biscuit Baker… I’m an absolute failure in the kitchen!

My kitchen skills lean more toward Domestic Disaster than Domestic Goddess, if truth be told. But I wasn’t going to let that stop me from experimenting and learning! Luckily my Mom was visiting, and she decided (as all mothers do!) that the best way to show her love for her newly found adoptive fur-grandchild was to whip up something tasty and delicious in the kitchen! I got the chance to learn to bake, my mom got some bonding time, and Phoebe got some treats – An all-round ‘WIN!’ for us all!

Phoebe loves the treats her Granny taught her Mommy to make!

Phoebe loves the treats her Granny taught her Mommy to make!

I’m happy to report that even though my culinary skills occasionally left my Mom exasperated, we managed to whip up a delicious and nutritious batch of liver biscuits for Phoebe. Here’s the recipe:

Phoebe’s Luscious Liver Treats:

Ingredients:

  • 500g Carrots
  • 200g Pumpkin
  • 3 x Potatos
  • 2kg Chicken Livers
  • 6 x cups (250ml each) Flour
  • 2 x cups (250ml each) Raw Oats

Directions:

  • Boil carrots, pumpkin and potato till soft
  • Put chicken livers in a pan, add a small amount of water and boil till cooked
  • Mash vegetables. Or put in food processor for a smoother consistency
  • Add Chicken livers to processed vegetable mix
  • Pour contents into a large bowl
  • Fold (or blend) flour and oats until the dough has a “play dough” consistency (add egg if necessary to get right consistency)
  • Grease oven pans
  • Roll dough and cut or press into desired shape
  • Place in oven at 180C for 20-30 minutes. Until golden brown
  • Allow to cool on a cooling rack

What would an online recipe be without some step-by-step pictures? ->

These will last in an air-tight container for about 2 weeks, but can also be sealed and frozen in the deep freeze for up to 3 months.

Next up I want to try a peanut butter based doggy biscuit recipe. I’ll post about it here to let you know how it goes!

Phoebe’s Effectiveness Summary:

Issue Addressed: Training, Nutrition, Food, FUN

Tool(s) Used: Your kitchen and baking skills

Cost: Low

Ease of Implementation: Easy (Assuming you know your way around a kitchen 🙂 )

Effectiveness Rating: 5/5. How can you go wrong with delicious meaty treats that are nutritious and tasty?! Phoebe loved these, and there were a lot of treats so this went a very long way – I even had enough to freeze, as well as give as gifts to all my friends with furbabies. The only note of caution is to give these sparingly – they are good treats, but as with all treats, moderation is key!

—-

Have you got any suggestions for any other treats I can make? Remember: my kitchen skills are limited, so it must be easy and Domestic Disaster Proof! 🙂

Leave a Reply

