Phoebe & Cooper’s Peanut Butter Biscuit Deliciousness

Treat time! I’ve previously experimented with baking homemade Liver Biscuits for Phoebe when my Mom came to visit last year, and boy, were they a hit! In fact, they were such a success that I decided that it was time to try my hand at baking once again, but this time I wanted to try a sweet treat to see if I could continue bringing smiles onto the faces of my happy, food-driven dogs.

I scoured the internet and found so many different recipes, and most seem to have the same basic ingredients, and also matched my (very low) baking skill levels. I finally decided to try out a basic recipe for Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits.

***Spoiler Alert***

They were a huge resounding success! Not only were they easy and quick to make, but they were also a firm favourite for both Cooper and Phoebe! If you’re looking for something fun to do for your dog and a way to pass an empty hour, then this is what you should get cracking on doing! They are also low fuss and easy to make if you have kids in the house and want them to do a fun, indoor activity.

But enough of the talk, let’s get on with the recipe and instructions:

Phoebe & Cooper’s Peanut Butter Biscuit Deliciousness

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (low salt)
  • 1/2 cup milk

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 180C (about 350F)
  • Combine Flour and Baking Powder in a large bowl
  • In a separate bowl combine milk and peanut butter until smooth
  • Slowly mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients in a bowl until mixed to a “dough-y” consistency
  • Lightly flour a surface
  • Roll dough on flour surface and knead until soft
  • Use cookie cutters to make shapes and place on greased oven pan
  • Bake in oven for +/-15 minutes
  • Once baked through place on cooling rack to cool,
  • Give one to the dogs for the all important “taste test”, then place in containers for storage

See? Easy peasy! Here’s a few pictures of the process:

dog biscuits dry ingredients

dog biscuits wet ingredients

dog biscuits mix

Dog biscuits dough

Dog biscuits enjoy

These will last in an air-tight container for about 2 weeks, but can also be sealed and frozen in the deep freeze for up to 3 months.

Remember to reward your kitchen helpers!

Remember to reward your kitchen helpers!

…  these also make great gifts not only for your own dogs, but for friends with furbabies too!

Phoebe & Cooper’s Effectiveness Summary:

Issue Addressed: Training, Nutrition, Food, FUN

Tool(s) Used: Your kitchen and baking skills

Cost: Low

Ease of Implementation: Easy

Effectiveness Rating: 5/5. Phoebe and Cooper absolutely loved these, and I will definitely be making them again soon. I recommend doubling the recipe though so you can freeze some as well to give out when going on walks, doing training, or just to spoil the dogs after a long day!

—-

Have you got any suggestions for any other easy dog treats I can make? 

 

1 thought on “Phoebe & Cooper’s Peanut Butter Biscuit Deliciousness

  1. I was wondering what the curly metal things were. On closer look I see they were licking the batter off the beaters. Funny – it brought back memories of when I was a kid and my mom let me lick the beaters, spoon and bowl. Isn’t it amazing how dogs can conjure up all kinds of ‘people’ memories?

    Like

Leave a comment